Chuffing Unbelizeable!

Leave a comment

May 2, 2013 by lucyhames

I was heading north and although I had heard mixed reviews regarding Belize I thought why the Dickens not. So I headed off early doors on the shuttle. It was crazy hot but I slept a lot of the way so it wasn’t too bad. Border control was the usual shananingins, but I made it across into Belize without incident. I hit Belize City and took the boat out to Caye Caulker a small island. The boat was the hottest vessel I have been on in my life, I thought I was going to pass out and I wasn’t the only one, but as the sweat poured off my body I caught glimpses of the beautiful blues of the Caribbean sea and I was more than excited. I arrive 10 hours after leaving Flores and the scene that greets me is stunning. This place is different to any other place I have been. I imagine it’s more like the Caribbean islands. The colours hit you like a slap round the chops. The blues of the ocean and sky, the white of the sand, the green of the palm trees and the bright colours of the hotels, restaurants and hammocks…..it’s beautiful and paradise on a plate.

Colourful Caye Caulker

Colourful Caye Caulker

Coco Loco!

Coco Loco!

I am not sure what will fill my time here though, it’s tiny, but 24 hours later Chris joins me and we spend our days snorkelling the beautiful waters, drinking booze, reading, lying on the beach and for me one night in a reggae bar….fun but not really my cup of tea. The people here are super chilled, the official language is English and it’s strange not to speak Spanish, we still say gracias, cant help it. Although its officially English it’s spoken with such a Creole accent its pretty hard to get 100% of the time, although surprisingly Chris appears to be pretty fluent which is handy.

The view from our room

The view from our room

Hard days work...

Hard days work…

Looking good Hames!

Looking good Hames!

The boys snorkelling

The boys snorkelling

It’s crazily expensive here but it’s also very hard to leave. We stay for 5 nights, 3 nights more than anticipated. We assess the options for travelling up to Mexico. We decide on the most expensive because it sounds so damn cool. We are shown pictures of the boat which looks like a plane inside and are told we will get free food and drinks (which is pretty much all Chris needs to know). So we go for it, a boat to Chetumal Mexico and a bus from there to Tulum, should be about 6 hours.

We arrive early morning for our first class boat trip and almost immediately we realise it ain’t no first class vessel and there’s zero food or drink. We pile on to the uncomfortably small boat to the next island, assuming we will change boats there…..we don’t. Instead we get massively delayed. Apparently there are more people on the boat than the immigration procedure has recorded, queue the most unorganised elimination exercise I have seen (the Project Manager in me squirms). After 20 mins of just sitting on the boat at port I have to get off, I am going to puke. I tell them to remember to count me on the deck. Another hour later and we are finally on the move. We arrive in Mexico (3 hours late), beautiful waters, scorching heat and a very strange border crossing. The military are waiting with dogs, we are lined up on the deck and sniffed as are our bags. Nearly 2 hours later and we are off in a taxi to the bus station. We get our first Mexican street eats and Chris is in heaven, it’s the beginning of a beautiful relationship (Chris and the street eats that is). We arrive after 12 hours of travel (rather than the anticipated 6) in Tulum and begin our Mexican adventure. To be honest our adventure really turns out to be a massive wonderful holiday as we move from one Mexican paradise to the next. I will sum Mexico up by simply saying, it’s beautiful, the people are great, the food is amazing, the company has been awesome and it will always be a special place for me, it will always have a piece of my heart. The pictures should give you some idea of why……

Chris and I at Tulum ruins

Chris and I at Tulum ruins

Snorkelling in a Cenote

Snorkelling in a Cenote, despite what it looks like, I am not naked

Drinking it all in...Tulum

Drinking it all in…Tulum

Isla Holbox

Isla Holbox

Me on the pier, sunset

Me on the pier, sunset

Beautiful sunset, Isla Holbox

Beautiful sunset, Isla Holbox

I see this trip in two parts, pre-Jez’s and post. The post part has been the most unexpected. I thought I had seen almost everything there is to see in this neck of the woods and met all the incredible people that I could ever wish to meet, but then I arrived in beautiful Guatemala and met more great people including Chris. We have travelled together for a month and every day of it has been awesome. I have said it before and I will say it again, the places are amazing but it’s the people that make the experience and Chris definitely did that. As he continues to travel through Mexico, I am tearily in Cancun awaiting my flight to the US. The next phase begins….one step closer to home.
Chris and I on a night out in Playa Del Carmen....never ends well...

Chris and I on a night out in Playa Del Carmen….never ends well…

You can never see too many beautiful sunsets

You can never see too many beautiful sunsets x

Leave a Reply

